It’s here.

It’s finally here.

The day of my showcase.

I look around the room, a lil flustered, overwhelmed at the turnout. Berenice really did her thing. Everyone who is anyone is here.

The editor-in-Chief of ‘Faces’ magazine had pulled me aside to tell me how much she had enjoyed the show. In her own words, “You outdid Yourself Julia, This is truly breathtaking”

Yes,

Yes I did,

I did outdo myself,

All my sweat, tears and raw emotions out for the world to see. My own lil creation, a visual of my present reality.

“Champagne?” David nudges me softly, stopping a waiter passing by. He takes two glasses out of the tray, handing me one, smiling down at me.

I sip slow from my glass, feeling butterflies in my stomach. I don’t know if it’s from the success of the showcase or the fact that David is here with me.

Calm, self assured, looking extra sophisticated in his navy blue evening suit, matching the Metallic of my Rebel couture number, a clingy beaded midi length gown. My hair is pulled back away from my face in a braid. My makeup subtle yet daring, bronze like, illuminating my skin.

“You haven’t said much all evening. It was a spectacular show” He tells me, watching me.

“Thank You.” I reply, “I have been feeling a lil flustered all evening. Anxious, so to speak”

“It’s the nerves. It will pass soon. It’s a great turnout” He remarks, his gaze sweeping across the room.

“Yes. I am glad everyone showed up. The feedback has been amazing” I say to him, looking around the room too.

There are people gathered in pairs, groups in threes and fours chatting animatedly among themselves. The ambience of the room electric. Some admiring the jewelry pieces on mantels placed in strategic positions around the room. Others indulging their tastebuds, catching up on the latest gossip.

I spot Berenice at the far end of the room, hand in hand with a buyer showing her pieces on display.

“Sh!t” I mutter to myself, quickly averting my gaze.

It’s Clara

“Huh?” David says to me

“Nothing” I reply, smiling up at him, taking a big sip from my glass.

“Are you okay?” He says softly to me,

“Yes, I am fine”

“Are you sure?”

“I will be right back.” I reply, finishing what’s left in my glass. I hand it to him.

Sh!t! Sh!t!! Sh!t!!!

I make my way through the party, my heart pounding in my chest, oblivious to anything. I spot Talia across the room chatting animatedly with Isah and a guest. I walk up to her, looking around the room for Donald, he is nowhere to be found.

So much for keeping an eye on his wife

I catch David’s eye, he is sipping from his glass, watching me. I look away from him, whispering in Talia’s ear, “Clara is here” And turning to Isa and the guest, “I am sorry but may I steal Talia for a bit”

Isa smiles down at me, “Congratulations are in order”

“Thank You” I reply, smiling broadly.

“Bring her back in one piece” He says to me, kissing Talia on the cheeks.

I nod softly,

“Clara is here?” Talia asks rhetorical, scanning the room.

“Yes”

“Where is she?”

I turn around to show Talia,

Uh oh.. Too late

Walking towards me, swaying nicely, baby bump protruding slightly, clad in a shimmering evening gown is Clara.

“Julia” She says to me, beaming from cheek to cheek. Her flaming red lipstick a sharp contrast to her pale skin. “I have been looking all over for you” She continues, blowing me air kisses. “This is divine. Absolutely divine”

“Hello Clara, it’s good to see you too”

“It’s been too long” She says coyly, patting her baby bump, smiling at me.

“Congratulations” I reply, looking down at her stomach.

“Well, Thank You” She replies, sparing Talia a glance, “Its good to see you Talia”

Talia rolls her eyes slightly, feigning a smile, “it’s good to see you Clara”

“I hope you don’t mind but I was hoping to have a conversation with Julia, alone”

Talia squeezes my hands, “I will be here if you need me”

“Julia” Clara begins when she is out of earshot.

“What do you want?”

“What do I want? Same thing as always, I want you to leave my family alone” She hisses.

“Is that why you literally begged your way for an invite?”

“You wish” She chuckles, “No. I asked politely and Berenice was more than willing to send me one, sugar. I came to show you though. Quit while you can Julia. I am having his baby. His healthy perfect baby” She replies, patting her baby bump, smiling slowly at me.

“How dare you?” I mutter icily.

“How dare I remind you of what you so desperately want but might never be able to give him?”

I flinch at her words, hurt to my core.

“Clara?!” I hear from behind me,

I turn around to find Donald staring coldly at the scene. I try to walk away from the both of em but he stops me mid stride,

“I am sorry I am late, I couldn’t get away any sooner” He says softly to me,

“I have to go Donald”

“What have you done?” He says icily to Clara.

“Me?? What have I done?” She spits back at him.

You can slice the tension between us with a knife. I try to get away but He stops me again,

“Please lets me go” I say to him.

My heart hurting a lil, tears threatening to fall down my cheeks. He lets me go, sighing a lil, parting his lips to say something but no words come out. Instead, He steps out of the way for me. I half run across the room, catching a glimpse of David watching me. He follows me out the room, catching up with me in the hallway,

“Jules” He says to me, “What’s wrong?”

“Nothing” I whisper,

“How do you know those people? Why are you crying?” He says to me in mild confusion.

“It’s nothing” I whisper again,

He lets out his arms to me, holding me close, I sob silently in his arms, letting out all the hurt, pain and frustrations of the last few months. Seeing Clara and her baby bump just made my nightmare all too real.

David holds me close still, whispering soothingly in my ears,

“It’s okay Jules. It’s okay”

Kissing me lightly on my forehead.

“I am sorry” I whisper, sniffing back tears.

“You don’t have to be” He says, gently cleaning tears from my face, “We good?”

“Yea” I reply, half smiling.

“Are you sure?”

I nod softly,

“Let’s head back” He says to me.

“I need to touch up on my makeup” I reply,

“Okay. See you inside?”

“Yea. I will come find you”

I head slowly to the ladies room, switching on the tap, the sound of the water trickling slow, soothing my aching heart.

I am having his baby. His healthy perfect baby

I draw in a quick breath, exhaling softly.

How dare I remind you of what you so desperately want but might never be able to give him?

I stare at myself through the mirror, touching up on my makeup, turning away from the mirror, straightening my gown.

I let myself out to find Donald leaning against the wall in the hallway, waiting for me. He steps away from the wall when he sees me, walking up to me. His eyes, searching my face.

“I am so sorry Jules”

I let out a mild sigh, “it’s okay”

“You look beautiful” He tells me,

“Thank You” I mutter, staring up at him.

“I wish.. I wish I know what to do to make this better”

“Yea. Me too”

“I am trying here Jules”

“I should get back to my guests”

“Please.. wait..” He pleads, “what can I do to make it better?”

“I don’t know”

“Don’t be like this, love”

“You should leave me alone” I offer softly,

“I can’t. I have tried”

“I have to go” I reply,

“Julia” I hear from a distance.

I look up to find David, silently watching us.

“I should get back inside” I tell Donald,

He nods softly, stepping out of the way for me, holding my arms lightly, “I am never giving up on us”

I turn away from him, walking up to David.

He looks me over, “Are you alright?”

“Yes” I nod at him.

“I thought I should come find you.”

“We should head back to the party” I say softly, linking my arms with his, smiling sweetly up at him.

I take one last long look at Donald, standing in the hallway, his hands casually in his pockets, his eyes, dark with unspoken fury.

Alrighty then, let the games begin!

©️ Unwana Udo-osoh

Leave a comment